Anthropology: Helpful Websites

This virtual lab showcases a spectacular collection of fossils and artifacts found mostly at Lake Turkana in East Africa. The digital collection of animals, human ancestors, as well as ancient stone tools offers a unique tool for scholars and enthusiasts to explore and interact with the collection online. It also provides an opportunity to download models for 3-D printing as well as to comment and share images of your favorite printed fossil objects on our forum.

The American Anthropological Association is the world’s largest scholarly and professional organization of anthropologists.

The ADS is an accredited digital repository for heritage data that supports research, leaning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources.

Read and search the full texts of more than 15,000 of Charles Darwin’s letters. Discover complete transcripts of all known letters Darwin wrote and received.

The site contains all of Darwin’s botany and zoology manuscripts and embraces all those on human evolution. Contains high-resolution color images of the 34,643 folios that deal directly with the theory of evolution.

The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR’s use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data.

eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through the University of Texas at Austin's osteology database.

Open Context publishes data you can analyze, media you can reuse, and field notes you can explore. All content published by Open Context carries Creative Commons copyright licenses.

Primate Info Net (PIN) is designed to cover the broad field of primatology, providing original content and links to resources about non-human primates in research, education and conservation.

The World Oral Literature Project is an urgent global initiative to document and disseminate endangered oral literatures before they disappear without record. The Project supports local communities and committed fieldworkers engaged in the collection and preservation of all forms of oral literature by providing funding for original research, alongside training in fieldwork and digital archiving methods.