LibGuides: ENGL 152: Databases & Journals

Finding Materials

The library has specific databases that you can use in order to find literary criticism. To access these databases, you will need your Ocean Connect username and password.

Most databases will let you limit by "peer-reviewed" so you can easily limit your search.

Your best best is to start by searching the name of the work you are researching. Sometimes it is better to start with the name of the author to find overviews of their writing style and themes.

If you need additional help, remember you can chat with a librarian using our Library Chat service.

Databases

Bloom's Literature
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
Gale Literature Criticism
Provides electronic access to Gale's critical anthologies, including: Children's Literature; Contemporary Literature; Drama; Nineteenth-Century Literature; Poetry; Short Story; Twentieth-Century Literature
MLA International Bibliography
A bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations in the areas of literature collected by the Modern Language Association. Note that this resource is not full-text.
Gale Literature
This database lets you search primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
Literary Reference Source
A full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, and hundreds of literary journals.
Literature Resource Center
Full text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and playwrights.

ENGL 152: Databases & Journals

Finding Materials

Databases

Video Tutorials