Open Textbook Library – VALE New Jersey – OpenStax – Creative Commons
OER Commons – Merlot – LibreTexts – OAPEN – DOAB – DOAJ – Pressbooks
Open Textbooks Library– The University of Minnesota’s Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of over 700 free,peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks in a variety of subjects. VALE is a member of the Open Textbook Network that sponsors conferences and workshops.
OER Commons: a digital library of OER resources.
LibreTexts: The LibreText Project, a non-commercial open textbook organization started at the University of California, Davis, was the recipient of a federal grant of 5 million dollars in 2018 to create textbooks for college students.
OpenStax.org at Rice University: Covers a variety of subjects but particularly strong in STEM.
Directory of Open Access Books: DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Pressbooks: Pressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 6,278 open access books published by 170 organizations and networks using Pressbooks.
VALENJ created an online repository of http://opennj.net/
“Open NJ is a statewide initiative undertaken by VALE to provide New Jersey college and university faculty with a space to share Open Educational Resources and expand our knowledge and adoption of OER. By creating this common space, Open NJ aims to provide a way to search for resources over multiple schools, and to grow the use of OER on individual campuses.”
The following is a list of additional sites to explore for open educational resources. In addition to the sites listed, look at your institution’s online database subscriptions and e-books for potential course materials. Many academic institutions have created LibGuides on OER that contain links to materials and information on getting started with OER.
MERLOT is a curated collection geared towards higher education. Started in 1997, it has an extensive collection of textbooks and support materials.
OAPEN
promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Creative Commons: a global resource of over 1.6 billion works, including textbooks.
Directory of Open Access Journals: DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, and is committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
