The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.
The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open.
This is a suggested Seven Step Strategy for conducting preliminary searches of U.S. patents and published applications using free online resources of the USPTO and its bi-lateral partner EPO (European Patent Office).
The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.
Google Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive
WIPO is the world's most comprehensive source of data on the intellectual property (IP) system, as well as of empirical studies, reports and factual information on IP
The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
A research guide explaining what engineering standards are, how they're developed, and where to find frequently used engineering standards.
Technical Reports:
A technical report is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research, or the state of a technical or scientific research problem.
This podcast covers a wide range of topics in science, technology, machinery, engineering, and the history behind everyday things. The hosts cover all topics in a style that is easy to understand, even if you don't know much about the subject.
This podcast is dedicated to helping engineers create extraordinary careers and lives! The show was recently cited by Forbes as one of the 15 most inspiring podcasts for professionals.
What is Engineering Heroes? It is a forum for people to meet and listen to some wonderful engineers, and to fully understand that the work they do, is so incredibly important in improving the world around us.
99% Invisible is a sound-rich, narrative podcast hosted by Roman Mars about all the thought that goes into the things we don’t think about — the unnoticed architecture and design that shape our world.
