Skip to Main Content

Citation: Chicago

A guide to citation resources

The Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago or CMOS (Chicago Manual of Style) format is mostly used for literature, history, and the arts. It has two different systems for citation: a note and bibliographic (NB) system and an author-date (AD) system. The Chicago Manual of Style is currently in its seventeenth edition. For further resources, please see:

The Chicago Manual of Style
CALL NUMBER: 808.0270973 C5327S 2017 – Reference and Reference Desk

A Manual For Writers of Research papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers
CALL NUMBER: 808.066378 T929M – Reference, 2nd Floor Circulating Shelves

The Little Seagull Handbook
CALL NUMBER: 808.042 B9381L 2017 – On Reserve, at Reference Desk, on 2nd Floor Circulating Shelves
 
Purdue Owl
In addition to providing citation information for MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian formats, this resource covers grammar and the basics of writing a research paper.
 
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Provides quick citation guides and answers to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ).

The examples from this subject guide can be attributed to Purdue Owl & A Manual for Wrtiers:
The Writing Lab and OWL at Purdue and Purdue U. 2008. The Purdue OWL Family of Site. Accessed December 12, 2018, from http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/
Turabian, Kate. 2013. A Manual for Writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations. 8th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

Author-Date Style

  • AD (Author-Date) style uses parenthetical citations, and ends the paper with a “References” section.
  • Chicago’s AD Reference style is recommended for those in the physical, natural, and social science.
  • For the References, the format is generally as follows: Author Last, Author First Name. Date. Title. Publication Information.
  • For in-text citations, use the author’s last name, the publication date, and the page number.
  • If you state the author’s name in the text, place the publication date, in parentheses, directly after the author’s name.
  • Place the page number, in parentheses, at the end of the quote, phrase, or sentence.

Notes-Bibliography Style

  • NB (Notes-Bibliography) style uses footnotes, and ends the paper with a “Bibliography” setion,
  • Chicago’s NB Reference Style is recommended fro those in the humanities and some social sciences.
  • For the Bibliography, the format is generally as follows: Author Last, Author First Name. Title. Publication Information, Date.
  • For citations in the body of the paper, use the footnote feature. After the relevant statement, insert a footnote, starting with number “1”. In the text, the note numbers are superscripted. In the notes themselves, they are full-sixed.
  • For the footnotes citation, you create a bibliographic note, using the following general format: Author First Name Last Name, Title. (Publication Information, Date), Page Number.
  • For every footnote from the source after the first, just state the author’s last name and the page number. For example: 2. DeLanda, 9