LibGuides: Citation: Chicago Citation Style

Books

One Author

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. Title. Publication City: Publisher.
Example (AD): DeLanda, Manuel. 2006. A New Philosophy of Society: Assemblage Theory and Social Complexity. London: Continuum.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (DeLanda 2006, 36)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. Title. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): DeLanda, Manuel. A New Philosophy of Society: Assemblage Theory and Social Complexity. London: Continuum, 2006.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, Title (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
Example (NB): 1. Manuel DeLanda, A New Philosophy of Society: Assemblage Theory and Social Complexity (London, Continuum, 2006), 6.

Two Authors

References (AD): Author Last, First Name and Author First Last Name. Year. Title. Publication City: Publisher.
Example (AD): Bernstein, Carl and Bob Woodward. 1974. All the President’s Men. New York: Simon & Schuster.
In-text (AD): (Author Last and Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Bernstein and Woodward 1974, 18)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name and Author First Last Name. Title. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): Bernstein, Carl and Bob Woodward. All The President's Men. New York, Simon & Schuster, 1974.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name and Author First Last Name, Title (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
Example (NB): 1. Carl Bernstein and Bob Woodward. All The President's Men (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1974), 96.

Three or More

For 3 to 10 authors, include all the names in the bibliography, but only the first author's name in the footnotes or in-text citation, followed by et al. with no common before et al. For more than 10 authors, list the first seven names in the bibliography followed by et al.

References (AD): Author Last, First Name, Author First Last Name and Author First Last Name. Year. Title. Publication City: Publisher.
Example (AD): McAllister, Robert and Sylvia T. Horowitz, and Raymond Gilden. 1993. Cancer. New York: Basic Books.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (McAllister 1993, 151)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name, Author First Last Name, and Author First Last Name. Title. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): McAllister, Robert and Sylvia T. Horowitz, and Raymond Gilden. Cancer. New York, Basic Books, 1993.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name. Title (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
Example (NB): 1. Robert McAllister. Cancer (New York: Basic Books, 1993), 205.

Author with Editor

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. Title, edited by Editor First Last Name. Publication City: Publisher.
Example (AD): Poston, Ted. 2000. First Draft of History, edited by Kathleen Hauke. Athens: University of Georgia Press.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Poston 2000, 241)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. Title. Edited by Editor First Last Name. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): Poston, Ted. First Draft of History. Edited by Kathleen Hauke. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2000.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, Title, ed. Editor Fist Last Name. (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
Example (NB): 1. Poston, Ted. First Draft of History, ed. Kathleen Hauke. (Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2000), 86.

Author with Translator

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. Title, translated by Translator First Last Name. Publication City: Publisher.
Example (AD): Laplace, Pierre Simon. 1902. A Philosophical Essay on Probabilities, translated by Frederick Truscott and Frederick Emory. London: John Wiley & Sons.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Laplace 1902, 7)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. Title. Translated by Translator First Last Name. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): Laplace, Pierre Simon. A Philosophical Essay on Probabilities, translated by Frederick Truscott and Frederick Emory. London: John Wiley & Sons, 1902.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, Title, trans. Translator Fist Last Name. (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
Example (NB): 1. Pierre Simon Lapalce, A Philosophical Essay on Probabilities, trans. Frederick Truscott and Frederick Emory. (London,: John Wiley & Sons, 1902), 7.

Editor, No Author

References (AD): Editor Last, First Name, ed. Year. Title. Publishing City: Publisher.
Example (AD): Duncan, Greg and Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, eds. 1997. Consequences of Growing Up Poor. New York, NY: Russell Sage Foundation.
In-text (AD): (Editor Last Name Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Duncan and Brooks-Gunn 1997, 196)
Bibliography (NB): Editor Last Name, ed. Title. Edited by Editor First Last Name. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): Duncan, Greg and Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, eds. Consequences of Growing Up Poor. New York, Russell Safe Foundation, 1997.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Editor First Last Name, ed., Title, ed. Editor Fist Last Name. (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
Example (NB): 1. Greg Duncan and Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, eds., Consequences of Growing Up Poor. (New York: Russell Safe Foundation, 1997), 45.

Work In an Anthology

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. "Title of Work." In Title of Anthology, edited by Editor First Last Name, page selection. Publishing City: Publisher.
Example (AD): Harris, Muriel. "Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers." In A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, 24-34. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2000.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Name Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Muriel 2000, 45)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. "Title of Work." In Title of Anthology, edited by Editor First Last Name, Page selection. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): Harris, Muriel. "Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers." In A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, 24-34. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2000
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, "Title of Work", in Title of Anthology, ed. Editor First Last Name. (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number
Example (NB): 1. Greg Duncan and Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, eds., Consequences of Growing Up Poor. (New York: Russell Safe Foundation, 1997), 45.

Edition Other Than First

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. Title. Edition Number. Publication City: Publisher.
Example (AD): Helfer, M.E., R.S. Kempe, and R.D. Krugman. 1997. The Battered Child. 5th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Helfer 1997, 25)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. Title. Edition number. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): Helfer, M.E., R.S. Kempe, and R.D. Krugman. The Battered Child. 5th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1997.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, Title, Edition Number (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
Example (NB): 1. M.E. Helfer, The Battered Child, 5th ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1997), 25.

Multivolume Work

References (AD): Author or Edtior Last, First Name. Year. Title. Number of Volumes Total. Publication City: Publisher.
Example (AD): Weiner, Philip, ed. 1968-73. Dictionary of the History of Ideas. 4 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons.
In-text (AD): (Author/Editor Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Weiner 1968-73, 86)
Bibliography (NB): Author or Editor Last, First Name. Title. Number of Volumes Total. Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): Weiner, Philip, ed. Dictionary of the History of Ideas. 4 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1968-73.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author or Editor First Last Name, Title, Number of Volumes Total (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
Example (NB): 1. Philip Weiner, Dictionary of the History of Ideas. 4 vols. ( New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1968-73), 86.

Foreword, Introduction, Preface, or Afterword

References (AD): Author of Section Last, First Name. Year. Section name to Title, by or ed. First Name Last Nam, (page number selection). Publishing City: Publisher.
Example (AD): Tanner, Tony. 1972. Introduction to Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. (pp. 7-46). New York: Penguin.
In-text (AD): (Section Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Tanner 1972, 8)
Bibliography (NB): Author or Editor Last, First Name. Section name to Title by or ed. First Name Last Name, (page number selection). Publishing City: Publisher, Year.
Example (NB): Tanner, Tony. Introduction to Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen, 7-46. New York: Penguin, 1972.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author or Editor First Last Name, part to Title, by or ed. First Name Last Name (Publication City: Publisher, Year), Page(s)
Example (NB): 1. Tony Tanner, introduction to Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen (New York: Penguin, 1972), 8.

Articles

Magazine Article

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Date.
Example (AD): Lepore, Jill. 2011. "Dickens in Eden." New Yorker, August 29.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Lepore 2011, 52)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Date, Year.
Example (NB): Lepore, Jill. "Dickens in Eden." New Yorker, August 29, 2011.
Footnote (NB): 1. Author First Last Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Date, Year, page number.
Example (NB): 1. Jill Lepore, "Dickens in Eden," New Yorker, August 29, 2011, 52.

Article in an Online Magazine/Newspaper

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Date. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (AD): Black, Robin. 2011. "President Obama: Why Don't You Read More Women?" Salon, August 24. Accessed January 15, 2019. http://www.salon.com/books/writing/index.html?story=/books/feature/2011/08/24/obama_summer_reading.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year)
Example (AD): (Black 2011)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Date, Year. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (NB): Black, Robin. "President Obama: Why Don't You Read More Women?" Salon, August 24, 2011. Accessed January 15, 2019. http://www.salon.com/books/writing/index.html?story=/books/feature/2011/08/24/obama_summer_reading.
Footnote (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, "Article Title", Magazine Title, Month Date, Year, accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. Robin Black, "President Obama:Why Don't You Read More Women?", Salon, August 24, 2011, accessed January 15, 2019, http://www.salon.com/books/writing/index.html?story=books/feature/2011/08/24/obama_summer_reading.

Scholarly Journal Article

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Season or Month of edition): page selection.
Example (AD): Twomey, Lisa. 2011. "Taboo or Tolerable? Hemingway's For Whom the Bell Tolls in Post-war Spain." Hemingway Review 30, no. 2 (Spring): 54-72.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Twomey 2011, 56)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Season or Month of edition and Year): page selection.
Example (NB): Twomey, Lisa. "Taboo or Tolerable? Hemingway's For Whom the Bell Tolls in Post-war Spain." Hemingway Review 30, no. 2 (Spring 2011): 54-72.
Footnote (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Season or Month of edition and Year): page selection.
Example (NB): 1. Lisa Twomey, "Taboo or Tolerable? Hemingway's For Whom the Bell Tolls in Post-war Spain," Hemingway Review 30, no. 2 (Spring 2011): 54-72.

Article in an Online Journal/From a Database

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Season or Month of edition): page selection. Accessed Date. Permalink or DOI.
Example (AD): Lewis, Judith. 2011. "'Tis a Misfortune to be a Great Ladie': Maternal Morality in the British Aristocracy, 1558-1959." Journal of British Studies 37, no. 1 (January): 26-53. Accessed January 15, 2019. http://www.jstor.org/stable/176034."
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year, Page Number)
Example (AD): (Lewis 2011, 32)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Season or Month of edition and Year): page selection. Accessed Date. Permalink or DOI.
Example (NB): Lewis, Judith. "'Tis a Misfortune to be a Great Ladie': Maternal Morality in the British Aristocracy, 1558-1959." Journal of British Studies 37, no. 1 (January 2011): 26-53. Accessed January 15, 2019. http://www.jstor.org/stable/176034."
Footnote (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Season or Month of edition and Year): page selection, accessed date, Permalink or DOI.
Example (NB): 1. Judith Lewis, "'Tis a Misfortune to be a Great Ladie': Maternal Morality in the British Aristocracy, 1558-1959", Journal of British Studies 37, no. 1 (January 2011): 26-53, accessed January 15, 2019, http://www.jstor.org/stable/176034.".

Newspaper Article

References (AD): Author Last, First Name or Newspaper Title. Year. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Month Date. Accessed date. URL.
Example (AD): Simon, Richard. 2011. "Redistricting Could Cost California Some Clout in Washington." Los Angeles Times, August 28. Accessed January 17, 2019. http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-california-congress-20110829,0,1873016.story.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year)
Example (AD): (Simon 2011)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name or Newspaper Title. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Month Date, Year. Accessed date. URL.
Example (NB): Simon, Richard. "Redistricting Could Cost California Some Clout in Washington." Los Angeles Times, August 28, 2011. Accessed January 17, 2019. http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-california-congress-20110829,0,1873016.story.
Footnote (NB): 1. Author First Name Last Name or Newspaper Title, "Article Title", Newspaper Title, Month Date, Year, accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. Simon, Richard, "Redistricting Could Cost California Some Clout in Washington", Los Angeles Times, August 28, 2011, accessed January 17, 2019, http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-california-congress-20110829,0,1873016.story.

Editorial in Newspaper, No Author

References(AD): Newspaper Name. Year. "Title if applicable." Editorial. Month Date.
Example (AD): Wall Street Journal. 2003. "Of Mines and Men." Editorial. October 24.
In-text (AD): (Newspaper name Year)
Example (AD): (Wall Street Journal 2003)
Bibliography (NB): Only cite in footnotes
Example (NB): Only cite in footnotes.
Footnotes (NB): 1. "Article Title," editorial, Newspaper Name, Month Date, Year.
Example (NB): 1. "Of Mines and Men," editorial, Wall Street Journal, October 24, 2003.

Letter to the Editor

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. Letter to the editor. Newspaper Name, Month Date..
Example (AD): Ward, Christopher. 2011. Letter to the editor. New York Times, August 28.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Name Year)
Example (AD): (Ward 2011)
Bibliography (NB): Only cite in footnotes
Example (NB): Only cite in footnotes.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, letter to the editor, Newspaper Name, Month Date, Year.
Example (NB): 1. Christopher Ward, letter to the editor, New York Times, August 28, 2011.

Book/Film Review

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. Review of Original Material Title, directed by/written by First Last Name. Periodical Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Month Year): page selection. Accessed date. URL.
Example (AD): Mokyr, Joel. 2011. Review of Natural Experiments of History, edited by Jared Diamond and James A. Robinson. American Historical Review 166, no. 3 (June 2011): 752-55. Accessed January 17, 2019. http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/ahr.116.3.752.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year)
Example (AD): (Mokyr 2011)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. Review of Original Material Title, directed by/written by First Last Name. Periodical Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Month Year): page selection. Accessed date. URL.
Example (NB): Mokyr, Joel. Review of Natural Experiments of History, edited by Jared Diamond and James A. Robinson. American Historical Review 166, no. 3 (June 2011): 752-55. Accessed January 17, 2019. http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/ahr.116.3.752.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, review of Original Material Title, directed by/written by First Last Name, Periodical Title Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Month Year): page selection, accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. Mokyr, Joel, review of Natural Experiments of History, edited by Jared Diamond and James A. Robinson, American Historical Review 166, no. 3 (June 2011): 752-55, accessed January 17, 2019, http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/ahr.116.3.752.

Online

General

References (AD): Author Last Name, First or Sponsor Name. Year. "Title of Content." Associated sponsors. Accessed date. URL.
Example (AD): Brooks, Susannah. 2011. "Longtime Library Director Reflects on a Career at the Crossroads." University of Wisconsin-Madison News, September 1. Accessed May 14, 2012. http://www.news.wisc.edu/19704.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Year)
Example (AD): (Brooks 2011)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last Name, First or Sponsor Name. "Title of Content." Associated sponsors. Date. Accessed date. URL.
Example (NB): Brooks, Susannah. "Longtime Library Director Reflects on a Career at the Crossroads." University of Wisconsin-Madison News. Last Updated September 1, 2011. Accessed May 14, 2012. http://www.news.wisc.edu/19704.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name or Sponsor Name, "Title", Associated Sponsors, Date, accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. Brooks, Susannah, "Longtime Library Director Reflects on a Career at the Crossroads." University of Wisconsin-Madison News, September 1, 2011, accessed May 14, 2012, http://www.news.wisc.edu/19704.

Entire Website

References (AD): Website Author or Sponsor Institute. Last Modify Date (if applicable). Website Title. Accessed date. URL.
Example (AD): The Writing Lab and OWL at Purdue and Purdue U. 2008. The Purdue OWL Family of Sites. Accessed 7 January 2019. http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/
In-text (AD): (Sponsor Name Modify Date)
Example (AD): (Purdue OWL 2008)
Bibliography (NB): Website Author or Sponsor Institute. Website Title. Last Modified Date (if applicable). Accessed date. URL.
Example (NB): The Writing Lab and OWL at Purdue and Purdue U. The Purdue OWL Family of Sites. Last modified 2008. Accessed 7 January 2019. http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name or Sponsor Name, Website Title, Last modified date, Accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. The Writing Lab and OWL at Purdue and Purdue U, The Purdue OWL Family of Sites, last modified 2008, accessed 7 January 2019, http://owl.english/purdue.edu/owl/

Webpage

References (AD): Editor, author, or compiler name (if available) Last, First. Year of last modification. "Title of Webpage." Name of Site or sponsor. Last modify date in more detail if provided. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (AD): Lipstadt, Deborah. 2016. "History of the Holocaust." Oxford Bibliographies. Last modified 26 May 2016. Accessed 7 January 2019. http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/view/document/obo-9780199840731/obo-9780199840731-0127.xml.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Name Modify Date)
Example (AD): (Lipstadt 2016)
Bibliography (NB): Editor, author, or compiler name (if available) Last, First. "Webpage Title." Name of site or sponsor. Last Modified Date (if applicable). Accessed date. URL.
Example (NB): Lipstadt, Deborah. "History of the Holocaust". Oxford Bibliographies. Last modified 26 May 2016. Accessed 7 January 2019. http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/view/document/obo-9780199840731/obo-9780199840731-0127.xml.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Editor, author, or compiler name (if available) Last, First, "Webpage Title", Name of site or sponsor, last modified date (if applicable), accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. Lipstadt, Deborah, "History of the Holocaust", Oxford Bibliographies, last modified 26 May 2016, accessed 7 January 2019, http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/view/document/obo-9780199840731/obo-9780199840731-0127.xml.

Webpage, Unknown Author

References (AD): Website sponsor or name. Year of last modification. "Title of Webpage." Name of Site or sponsor, Last modify date in more detail if provided. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (AD): Google. 2018. "Privacy Policy." Google Privacy & Terms, last modified May 25. Accessed 7 January 2019. https://policies.google.com/privacy?hl=en.
In-text (AD): (Website/sponsor name Name Modify Date)
Example (AD): (Google 2018)
Bibliography (NB): Website sponsor or name. "Title of Webpage." Name of Site or sponsor. Last modify date. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (NB): Google. "Privacy Policy." Google Privacy & Terms. Last modified May 25, 2018. Accessed 7 January 2019. https://policies.google.com/privacy?hl=en.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Website or sponsor name, "Webpage Title", Name of site or sponsor, last modified date (if applicable), accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. Google, "Privacy Policy", Google Privacy & Terms, last modified May 25, 2018, accessed 7 January 2019, https://policies.google.com/privacy?hl=en.

Image from Website

References (AD): Creator’s Last, First Name. Year. Title of Artwork. Medium if relevant. Name of Website or institution that houses the artwork. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (AD): Goya, Francisco. 1800. The Family of Charles IV. Painting. Museo Nacional del Prado, Madrid. Accessed 7 January 2019. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/gova/hd_goya.htm.
In-text (AD): (Creator Last Name Year)
Example (AD): (Goya 1800)
Bibliography (NB)
Footnotes (NB): Creator’s First Last Name. Title of Artwork. Year. Medium if relevant. Name of Website or institution that houses the artwork. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (NB): Francisco Goya, The Family of Charles IV, 1800, Painting, Museo Nacional del Prado, Madrid, accessed 7 January 2019, http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/gova/hd_goya.htm.

Online Book

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. Title. Publishing city: Publisher. Retrieved from URL.
Example (AD): Delabastita, Dirk, and Lieven D'hulst. 1990. European Shakespeares. translating Shakespeare in the romantic age. Amsterdamn: John Benjamins Publishing Company. Retrieved from http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/purdue/detail.action?docID=842928.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Name Year)
Example (AD): (Dirk & D'hulst 1990)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. Title. Publishing city: Publisher, Year. Retrieved from URL.
Example (NB): Delabastita, Dirk, and Lieven D'hulst. European Shakespeares. translating Shakespeare in the romantic age. Amsterdamn: John Benjamins Publishing Company, 1990. Retrieved from http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/purdue/detail.action?docID=842928.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Author First Last Name, Title (Publishing City: Publisher, Year), page number, retrieved from URL.
Example (NB): 1. Dirk Delabastita and Lieven D'hulst, European Shakespeares. translating Shakespeare in the romantic age (Amsterdamn: John Benjamins Publishing Company, 1990), retrieved from http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/purdue/detail.action?docID=842928.

Portion of an Online Book

References (AD): Portion Author Last, First Name. Date. "Portion Title." In Book Title, edited by Editor First Last Name, page selection. Publisher City: Publisher. Retrieved from URL.
Example (AD): Binkley, Cameron. 2011. "Saving Redwoods: Clubwomen and Conservation, 1900-1925." In California Women and Politics: From the Gold Rush to the Great Depression, edited by Robert W. Cherny, Mary Ann Irwin, and Ann Marie Wilson, 151-74. Lincoln: University of Alaska Press. Retrieved from https://www.researchgate.net/publication/297550653_Saving_redwoods_Clubwomen_and_conservation_1900-1925.
In-text (AD): (Section Author Last Name Year, page number)
Example (AD): (Binkley 2011, 151)
Bibliography (NB): Portion Author Last, First Name. "Portion Title." In Book Title, edited by Editor First Last Name. (Publisher City: Publisher, Year), page selection. Retrieved from URL
Example (NB): Binkley, Cameron. "Saving Redwoods: Clubwomen and Conservation, 1900-1925." In California Women and Politics: From the Gold Rush to the Great Depression, edited by Robert W. Cherny, Mary Ann Irwin, and Ann Marie Wilson. (Lincoln: University of Alaska Press, 2011), 151-74. Retrieved from https://www.researchgate.net/publication/297550653_Saving_redwoods_Clubwomen_and_conservation_1900-1925.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Portion Author First Last Name, "Title", In Book Title, edited by Editor NFirst Last Name. (Publshing City: Publisher, Year), page number. Retrieved from URL.
Example (NB): 1.Binkley, Cameron, "Saving Redwoods: Clubwomen and Conservation, 1900-1925", In California Women and Politics: From the Gold Rush to the Great Depression, edited by Robert W. Cherny, Mary Ann Irwin, and Ann Marie Wilson. (Lincoln: University of Alaska Press, 2011), 151. Retrieved from https://www.researchgate.net/publication/297550653_Saving_redwoods_Clubwomen_and_conservation_1900-1925.

Blog Post

References (AD): Author Last, First Name. Year. "Post Title." Blog Title, Post Month and Year. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (AD): Becker, Gary. 2012. "Is Capitalism in Crisis?" The Becker-Posner Blog, February 12. Accessed January 7, 2019. http://www.becker-posner-blog.com/2012/02/is-capitalism-in-crisis-becker.html.
In-text (AD): (Author Last Name Year)
Example (AD): (Becker 2012)
Bibliography (NB): Author Last, First Name. "Post Title." Title, Date. Accessed Date. URL.
Example (NB): Becker, Gary. "Is Capitalism in Crisis?" The Becker-Posner Blog, February 12, 2012. Accessed January 7, 2019. http://www.becker-posner-blog.com/2012/02/is-capitalism-in-crisis-becker.html.
Footnotes (NB): Author First Last Name, "Post Title", Blog Title, Date, accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): Gary Becker, "Is Capitalism in Crisis?", The Becker-Posner Blog, February 12, 2012, accessed January 7, 2019, http://www.becker-posner-blog.com/2012/02/is-capitalism-in-crisis-becker.html.

References: Do not include in references. In-text citation only
In-text: (Author First Last Name, Month Date, Year, e-mail)
Example: (John Smith, January 7, 2019, e-mail)
Bibliography: Do not include in bibliography. Footnotes only.
Footnote: 1. Author First Last Name, e-mail, Month Date, Year.
Example: 1. John Smith, e-mail, January 7, 2019.

Government Document Online

References (AD): Name of Branch of Government. Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee. Year of Publication. Title. Associated information such as which congress & which session or Author First Name Last Name. Page numbers if applicable. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.
Example (AD): US Congress. House of Representatives. Select Committee on Homeland Security. 2002. Homeland Security Act of 2002. 107th Congress, 2d sess. HR Rep. 107-609, pt. 1. Accessed January 7, 2019. http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CRPT-107hrpt609/pdf/CRPT-107hrpt609-pt1.pdf.
In-text (AD): (Government Branch Agency Year, Page Number if applicable)
Example (AD): (US House 2002, 187)
Bibliography (NB): Name of Branch of Government. Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee. Title. Associated information such as which congress & which session or Author First Name Last Name, Year of Publication, page numbers if applicable. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.
Example (NB): US Congress. House of Representatives. Select Committee on Homeland Security. Homeland Security Act of 2002. 107th Congress, 2d sess, 2002. HR Rep. 107-609, pt. 1. Accessed January 7, 2019. http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CRPT-107hrpt609/pdf/CRPT-107hrpt609-pt1.pdf.
Footnotes (NB): 1. Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee, Title, Associated information such as which congress & which session or Author First Name Last Name, Year of Publication, page numbers if applicable, accessed Month Day, Year, URL.
Example (NB): Select Committee on Homeland Security, Homeland Security Act of 2002, 107th Congress, 2d sess, 2002, HR Rep. 107-609, pt. 1, accessed January 7, 2019, http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CRPT-107hrpt609/pdf/CRPT-107hrpt609-pt1.pdf.

Media

General

When citing media sources in Chicago format, include as much information as is available regarding author, producer, sponsor, publication, medium, dates, site title, and any available URL. An access date is not always necessary.

Video/Film

References (AD): Director Last, First Name, dir. Year. Film Title. Studio. Access point whether by DVD or Streaming Service or Website. Accessed date if a web service, date published or posted. URL if applicable.
Example (AD): Cholodenko, Lisa, dir. 1998. High Art. October Films. Accessed September 6, 2011. http://nmovies.netflix.com/.
In-text (AD): (Director Last Name Year)
Example (AD): (Cholodenko 1998)
Bibliography (NB): Director Last, First Name, dir. Title of Film, Studio, Year. Access Point. Access point whether by DVD or Streaming Service or Website. Accessed date if a web service, date published or posted. URL if applicable.
Example (NB): Cholodenko, Lisa, dir. High Art. October Films, 1998. Accessed September 6, 2011. http://nmovies.netflix.com/.
Footnote (NB): 1. Film Title, directed by First Name Last Name (Studio, Year), Access Point, Accessed date if applicable or date published or posted, URL if applicable.
Example (NB): 1. High Art, directed by Lisa Cholodenko (October Films, 1998), accessed September 6, 2011, http://movies.netflix.com/.

Podcast/YouTube

References (AD): Creator Last Name, First Name or Company/Channel. "Title of Video." Posting Date. Access Site. Accessed date. URL.
Example (AD): UW Tacoma Multimedia Lab. "Videography Tips and Tricks to Produce a Documentary Profile Piece." September 30, 2015. YouTube video. https://www.youtube.comwatch?v=j_fiNRFcbwY.
In-text (AD): (Creator Last Name or Channel Name Year) When including a direct quote, also state the time stamp of the quote.
Example (AD): (UW Tacoma Multimedia Lab 2015)
Bibliography (NB): Creator Last First Name or Channel Name. "Title of Video" (video/music video/podcast). Posted Date. Access Date. URL.
Example (NB): UW Tacoma Multimedia Lab. "Videography Tips and Tricks to Produce a Documentary Profile Piece." (video) Posted September 30, 2015. Access January 17, 2019. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_fiNRFcbwY.
Footnote (NB): 1. First Last Name of Creator/Channel Name, "Video Title" (video/music video/podcast), posted date, access date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. UW Tacoma Multimedia Lab, "Videography Tips and Tricks to Produce a Documentary Profile Piece" (video), posted September 30, 2015, accessed January 17, 2019, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_fiNRFcbwY.

Television Shows

References (AD): Series Name Year. "Episode Title," directed by First Last Name. Season, episode. Air dateon Channel Name. Access point, Studio.
Example (AD): Mad Men 2007. "Nixon vs. Kennedy," directed by Alan Taylor. Season 1 episode 12. Aired October 11 on AMC. DVD, Lions Gate Television.
In-text (AD): (Series Title Year) When including a direct quote, also state the time stamp of the quote.
Example (AD): (Mad Men 2007)
Bibliography (NB): Title of program or series Season, episode, "Episode Name." Directed by First Last Name. Air date, channel. Access point. Studio, publication or posting date.
Example (NB): Mad Men. Season 1, episode 12, "Nixon vs. Kennedy." Directed by Alan Taylor. Aired October 11, 2007, on AMC. DVD. Lions Gate Television, 2007, disc 4.
Footnote (NB): 1. Title of program or series, season, episode, "Title of episode," directed by First Last Name, air date, channel, access point (Studio, publication or posting date).
Example (NB): 1. Mad Men, season 1, episode 12, "Nixon vs. Kennedy," directed by Alan Taylor, aired October 11, 2007, on AMC, DVD (Lions Gate Television, 2007), disc 4.

Song or Album

References (AD): Songwriter Last, First Name. Year. "Title of Song." Album. Performers First Name Last Name. Recording date. Recording Studio, publication year. Access date if online. URL if online. Access point such as CD/MP3/Record.
Example (AD): Beethoven, Ludwig van. 1969 and 1970. Piano Sonata no. 29 ("Hammerklavier"). Rudolf Serkin, piano. Recorded December 8-10, 1969, and December 14-15, 1970. Sony Classics, 2005. MP3.
In-text (AD): (Songwriter Name Year) Include timestamp or track number on album if applicable.
Example (AD): (Beethoven 1969 and 1970)
Bibliography (NB): Songwriter Last, First Name. "Title of Song." Album. Performers First Name Last Name. Recording date. Recording Studio, publication year. Access date if online. URL if online. Access point such as CD/MP3/Record.
Example (NB): Beethoven, Ludwig van. Piano Sonata no. 29 ("Hammerklavier"). Rudolf Serkin, piano. Recorded December 8-10, 1969, and December 14-15, 1970. Sony Classics, 2005. MP3.
Footnote (NB): 1. Songwriter First Last Name, "Title of Song", Album, by Performers First Last Name, recorded Recording Date, Studio, Publication Year,Access date if online, Medium or URL.
Example (NB): 1. Ludwig van Beethoven, Piano Sonata no. 29, ("Hammerklavier"), by Rudolf Serkin, recorded December 8-10, 1969, and December 14-15, 1970, Sony Classics, 2005, MP3.

Lecture

References (Ad): Speaker Last, First Name. Year. "Lecture Title." Lecture Type at Panel name, Conference name, Location, City, State.
Example (AD): Stein, Bob. 2003. "Reading and Writing in the Digital Era." Keynote Address at Discovering Digital Dimensions, Computers and Writing Conference, Union Club Hotel, West Lafayette, IN.
In-text (AD): (Speaker Last Name Year)
Example (AD): (Stein 2003)
Bibliography (NB): Speaker Last, First Name. "Lecture Title." Lecture Type at Panel name, Conference name, Location, City, State, Year
Example (NB): Stein, Bob. "Reading and Writing in the Digital Era." Keynote Address at Discovering Digital Dimensions, Computers and Writing Conference, Union Club Hotel, West Lafayette, IN, 2003.
Footnote (NB): 1. Speaker First Name Last Name, "Lecture Title," Lecture Type at Panel name, Conference Name, Location, City, State, Year.
Example (NB): 1. Bob Stein, "Reading and Writing in the Digital Era," Keynote Address at Discovering Digital Dimensions, Computers and Writing Conference, Union Club Hotel, West Lafayette, IN, 2003.

References (AD): Only cite in-text
Example (AD): Only cite in-text.
In-text (AD): (Name of Company, "Title of Advertisement," advertisement on Source Name, Date Published, access date if applicable, URL if applicable.)
Example (AD): (Doritos, "Healing Chips," advertisement aired on Fox Sports, February 6, 2011, accessed September 7, 2011, http://www.foxsports.com/m/video/36896580/doritos-healing-chips.htm)
References (NB): Only in footnotes
Example (NB): Only in footnotes.
Footnote (NB): 1. Name of Company, "Title of Advertisement," advertisement on Source Name, Publication Date.
Example (NB): 1. Doritos, "Healing Chips," advertisement aired on Fox Sports, February 6, 2011.

Twitter

References (AD): Twitter handle. Date. Twitter post. Run by associated company/full name of person. Accessed date. URL.
Example (AD): @SenSanders. 2019, January 24. Twitter Post. Run by Bernie Sanders. Accessed January 25, 2019. https://twitter.com/SenSanders/status/1088631638073004037.
In-text (AD): (Twitter handle, Twitter Post, Date [time], accessed date, URL.)
Example (AD): (@SenSanders, Twitter Post, January 24, 2019 [6:56 P.M.], accessed January 25, 2019, https://twitter.com/SenSanders/status/1088631638073004037.)
Bibliography(NB): ONly cite in footnotes
Example (NB): Only cite in footnotes
Footnote (NB): 1. Twitter Handle, Twitter post, Date (Time), accessed date, URL.
Example (NB): 1. @SenSanders, Twitter post, January 24, 2019 (6:56 P.M.), accessed January 25, 2019, https://twitter.com/SenSanders/status/1088631638073004037.

Citation: Chicago Citation Style

Books

Articles

Online

Media

Charts, Tables, Graphs, and Images